Berserk and Major Arcana

Squiddot

The Falcon needs you. You don't need him!
First of all, this is not a post claiming that Miura used any Major Arcana inspiration in creating his characters. I just though that considering the flexibility and broadness of the cards as well as the large cast of characters, it would be possible to run the cast of Berserk through the Major Arcana, the 22 most recognisable cards in a tarot deck, and create a series. This topic was discussed once before on this site back in 2003, but in the years since, Miura has introduced and expanded on so many characters I thought it might be worth revisiting.

This is actually one half of a task, with the second being potentially creating artworks of these cards. Drawing is a passion of mine, but being a busy university student, I can’t promise I’ll be getting onto this as soon as the comparisons get nailed down. Of course if any arty people here (and there are a lot of you) think these would make a fun exercise they’re welcome to try it out as well.

A few notes before we start!

1: It’s important to note that tarot cards generally carry a wide range of interpretations. Differences sources will tell you different traits. However there is a key universal theme underlying every source that I’ve tried to extract. If anybody more experienced in Major Arcana notices I’ve misinterpreted a card, please let me know!

2: Tarot Cards have both an ‘upright’ and a ‘reversed’ orientation, each with different interpretations (reversed is typically more negative). I’ve chosen to purely rely on the more default, upright positions for my comparisons.

3: The structure I’ll be using for this post is listing the number and name of the card, and then including a few keywords that summarise the card. I’ll then describe any justification I have for assigning a character into that specific slot.