How to make vellum (or other animal based writing materials...)

Well, I haven't posted here regularly in some time, but I still lurk and keep up on Berserk, so I thought that I would mention this/ask for help. I am a student at Xavier University (the one in Cincinnati), and I am currently taking a class about the history of writing, taught by our medievalist. Now, I have an assignment in which I must create a working definition of what consitutes technology, and write it on an unorthodox, pre-paper material (rock, clay tablet, bone, animal skin, etc.), and subsequently write a paper.

Being a history major who is fascinated by the middle ages, I am going to attempt to do so by making my own vellum, or at least some sort of animal material, specifically because I was raised on a relatively large farm and have access to the necessary material. I have begun researching this, and found that there are some medieval buffs out there who still do this sort of thing, and I know that some of my fellow posters here are into forging replicas of medieval weaponry and armor, as well as fellow historians, so I was really hoping someone might be able to offer a few tips on the process. Also,I am going to be taking detailed notes and quite a few photos during the process, which I will put online, and if anyone would be interested in seeing these I would be more than happy to post a link.

Any help would be UNBELIEVABLY appreciated...

Aazealh

Administrator
Staff member
Hi bph, good to see you. I can tell you the basics of making parchment from animal skin and provide links with pictures but they'd be in French (I could sum it up for you if you're interested). :SK:

Parchemin.jpg

But as for vellum specifically, I can't help. Wasn't it made in cotton and used as a kind of curtain though, and not for writing? We can still buy "velum" for our gardens over here. Check this illustration.