My thoughts on Berserk

I have very little experience reading Manga. I've only watched Anime that were popular in the West when I was a child, some examples include: DBZ, One Piece and Yugioh. Over the course of my teenage years I developed a kind of prejudice against the subculture surrounding Manga and Anime due to the strange portrayal of sexuality and iterative storytelling centred on perpetual battle scaling. Later I would find out that the latter is a central them of a subcategory known as Shonen Manga. All this to say, I wasn't in search of Manga to read, but I somehow stumbled on the 1997 Berserk Anime. And boy did I embark on an incredible journey. I was impressed by the themes that were raised by the Anime, but once I started reading the Manga, I knew that this was truly something special. I wanted to share my thoughts here with others who like the Manga.

A true tragic drama, our protagonist Guts is an amazing rendition of the hero bound to endless tragedy. Born from the womb of dead woman, left to drown in placental waste. 'Born under a bad sign' couldn't be anymore suited to a character than it is for Guts. This 'bad sign' is formalized by the brand he receives during the Eclipse ceremony. Often, I see people saying that Berserk is a misanthropic and pessimist tale where the author is just writing a tale where the hero undergoes the worst suffering imaginable for no reason other than his suffering. This completely missed the point of Berserk. In Berserk, Guts is appropriately nicknamed the 'struggler' by the Skull Knight. Although he is destined to be haunted by the Apostles until the end of his days, he fights and struggles to survive and to protect those he loves, most notably his lover Casca. Berserk is a tale where although the hero is facing unsurmountable odds, he is determined to fight until the very end. The brilliant depiction of this struggle is what makes Berserk such a masterpiece.