Berserk and Silent Hill

Hello and thanks for accepting my membership request.

I am new to Berserk. I started with the anime in 2016 (97s and 2016s) but I abandoned it because I didn't want to wait for the continuation. The 2016s anime was not all yet out (I didn't come to see Guts and Casca's reunion). I came back to Berserk this summer and, well, it was a journey... or two. Maybe four.

Anyway, as much as this story moved me I got the feeling I've felt that emotion before. Then, while I was listening to Berserk's OST, I thought about how much Gut's theme reminds me of Akira Yamaoka and, specifically, Silent Hill 2. Another story which moved me deeply.

I thought Gut's theme can perfectly be "James Sunderland's theme". Personally, I find interesting parallels between Guts and James, especially, in their relationships with Casca and Mary/Maria. I can empathize on the sadness, guilt and remorse they might be feeling. I also think there is a parallel in their sexual frustration. See Guts in vol.23 when he attacked Casca. When I saw that scene, the first thing I thought about was James Sunderland doing the thing on the tape (no spoilers, if you know, you know).

So, to those who've played SH2: did you at any point make this association?

And finally, let me know your thoughts about the pair: beast of darkness vs. Pyramid head. I'd love shipping these two.

Thank you!

Aazealh

Administrator
Staff member
Hi and welcome!

To answer your question directly... I played Silent Hill and its sequels back when they came out and have fond memories of them, but I've never associated them with Berserk, musically or otherwise. The most memorable music I associate with that series will forever be SH1's main theme with the guitar.

And finally, let me know your thoughts about the pair: beast of darkness vs. Pyramid head. I'd love shipping these two.

I wouldn't say there's much to compare between the two, honestly. Sorry, I'm probably not the best audience for this sort of stuff!